celtic knot ilays not evan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Yella19

Hi ,
i did my first celtic knot inlay , aluminium in pine , but the spacings are not even,
as im relatively new to turning pens could anyone suggest a jig to get the cuts more even on a bench top mini bandsaw. Thanks in advance:confused:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Krash

Hi ,
i did my first celtic knot inlay , aluminium in pine , but the spacings are not even,
as im relatively new to turning pens could anyone suggest a jig to get the cuts more even on a bench top mini bandsaw. Thanks in advance:confused:

Using thin aluminum that is thinner than the kerf of your sawblade will create offsets in the segments you cut through on each subsequent cut. The reason the celtic knots you see on this site are in alignment is because, as the library link sent by walshjp17 shows, the segmented material matches the kerf, in this case a table saw blade. You see his guide for the kerf thickness of his 3 different blades. This is so he can match the added material to his saw blade.

I am in the process of writing up some possible correcting steps that can be taken to match the offset segments back up. Stay tuned ....

Yella19

Thank you all for the advise, will try another one this weekend using all the tips you guys gave me
im still amazed at the willingness to share info for new turners..

monophoto

Celtic knots are exercises in precision craftsmanship. The key points are:
1. The cross section of the blank needs to be as square as possible.
2. The saw kerf width must match the thickness of the inlay. Errors here will result in misalignment of segments of the knot.
3. The saw kerfs must be done in a precisely repeatable fashion. I suppose that a chop saw would work, but the best approach is to use a jig.