CADD questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dario

I want to learn and practice CAD since it can be very useful for my line of work.

Anyone knows a good but reasonably priced CADD software that doesn't require too much additional/extra peripherals?

What self help book can you recommend?

I am computer literate and believe that I can learn from a book pretty quickly especially if there are good hands-on practice projects.

Any related input and recommendations are welcome.

Thank you.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MesquiteMan

Retired Head Moderator
Dario,

CAD is too general of a term. What do you want to do with it? The application will depend on what you plan to do with it. IF you want to do house or building plans then you are better off with a parametric CAD program specifically for Architectural design that will create a 3-D of the building as you go. That is the area of my expertise in CAD. As you know, I am a home builder. You may not know, however, that I design and do the drafting myself on 98% of the custom homes that I build. I use a program called Cheif Architect. I have been using it for 10 years or so and it is now one of the top rated Architectural CAD programs out there. Not cheap, though at $2,195 but then again, nothing that makes you money by increasing your productivity is!

Here is a couple of interior renderings I did on a recent job. These were real quick without spending much time tryng to really make it realistic.

Dario

Nolan, PM sent.

Curtis, You are right (shows I don't know anything about it [:I]). My target is for architectural/engineering plan purposes. $2,195.00 is definitely out of my range right now though.

Thanks guys!

Nolan

Originally posted by MesquiteMan

Dario,