bottle stopper advice

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from glycerine

glycerine

I'm finally going to try something other than pens. I got a bottle stopper kit and will probably try turning one soon. Is there anything I should know before I get to it? Tips or tricks? Common mistakes? Good or bad woods to use? Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimMc7

I'm no expert, having done 10 or so, but biggest problem I had was drilling too large a hole in softer wood -- the threads caught, but only just!

I purchased the Ruth Niles' introductory kit of drill bit (23/64"), 10 stoppers and mandrel. Bit works great for acrylics, but I'll step down 1/64" or so on the next wood stopper I do. I've only done Madrone Burl in the wood and it is a bit soft.

Edit to add: I also recommend these stopper blocks with embedded roses & such (from Ed Davidson, sold by AS):
http://www.arizonasilhouette.com/3D_Bottle_Stopper_Blocks.htm

You'll also find link to video and instructions at above link.

Last edited:

jleiwig

I'm finally going to try something other than pens. I got a bottle stopper kit and will probably try turning one soon. Is there anything I should know before I get to it? Tips or tricks? Common mistakes? Good or bad woods to use? Thanks.

Don't expect a quality CA finish if you put lots of sharp beads or coves in it. I made this bottle stopper a while ago,
1_IMG_1735.jpg

And I probably spent 3-4 hours getting the finish just right. Next time I will probably set up to spray laquer if I do one with the sharp beads and coves.

Gary Simmons

stoppers

I use the Ruth Niles stainless steel stoppers as well. Great product. Posters are right however, soft woods can get loose when on the lathe, one catch and it stops turning. On softer woods I move the tailstock up until the body is done, then remove and finish the top of it.

I have found that Deft semi-gloss, frictioned on works great. Very durable.

Have fun.

robutacion