Black walnut segmented pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from tseger

Status
Not open for further replies.

tseger

this is my latest segmented pen made from black walnut and spalted pecan. This is my first attempt at scallops. Yall let me know what you think, good, bad or otherwise. Anything you would do different?
Did I do the scallops right? Thanks for looking and especially for the ones that leave feedback. Tim

This is a close up of the spalted pecan

This is a close up of the scallops. Remember, this was my first attempt, so tell me what I did right AND what I did wrong.
tn_scallops_fix.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jedgerton

If I could see anything wrong, I would mention it but it really looks great to me. That spalted pecan looks great! Great job on the segmenting as well.

John

alxe24

The choice of woods looks very nice, the pen looks great. Not to mantion the finish. I'm sure it will peel off by tomorrow[}:)] Seriously it looks great.

Rifleman1776

You asked for feedback. Your craftmanship is top notch, beautiful work. But, I am not a fan of mixed media. To me, it looks like something made from left over scraps, albiet beautiful scraps. A beautiful wood stands on it's own. Mixing different woods detracts from each.

GaryMGg

I love the quality of the fit and finish, and the scallops look good. For me, there's too harsh a transition of grain where the pecan meets the walnut on the loower barrel.
It's possible a piece of picguard or credit card would've helped but the two woods are so different that even that's a long shot.
It's a very subjective area.

Gary

gerryr