Alumilite Blank Chipping

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mgoetzke

I'm new to turning this material. I cast the blanks so they are not totally round to start. I have been using a small round carbide tool, larger round NR carbide tool, and a skew. I have no issues with the skew but it is s_l_o_w so I pulled out the NR round carbide tool and small round carbide tool to remove the material quicker before switching to the skew. Both times with the round carbide cutters the seem to work great until the blank becomes round then I got chip-out in the middle of the blank. Luckily both times I was able to skew turn out the chipped area but wondering what is going on (I'm sure it is user error). The method I'm using with the carbide is approach straight in and sweep out the material. Maybe when I'm getting close to round don't approach perpendicular?

Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jrista

There is a limit to how "fast" you can remove material with some resins. If you push the tool in too hard, I've found that pretty much any of the resins I turn will start to chip out. For alumilite as well as some other resins, you just need to take it slower...more passes removing thinner layers of material. With acrylic, I can remove almost as much as I want at a time, although I still find that if I'm too aggressive, I get ripples and other surface defects that can then be harder to get out later (usually requires more aggressive sanding, which has its own problems).

With a NR Carbide, I mostly use the same technique. I guess I don't really go "strait in". I have the tool at an angle, maybe 45 degrees on the rest, and I push in near the middle of the blank and move towards the end. Repeat a few passes of that, starting farther and farther to the other end, removing more of the bulk of the material. Once I have just a bit of material at one end, I reorient myself and the tool so I can go the other way, and just work down that bit.