Spectraply Blanks 20 for $10 incl shipping

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

lhowell

I saw this too and took a gamble and placed an order. To my knowledge Cousineau makes a lot of spectra-ply gun stocks so I am assuming pen blanks are a great way to get rid of scraps for them and still make money. I'll update once I receive the blanks.

DigBaddy72

I'm not really a fan of the spectraply blanks for pens. I have turned 13 pens using these blanks and only 5 were sellable. I found that, like plywood, there are voids and gaps between the plys. This could have been a bad batch of blanks, but it was enough to turn me off of these. The bottle stopper spectraply on the other hand have been solid for me.

Of course, this is just my opinion.

MTViper

I've been turning Spectaply for several years, everything from pens to peppermills to small bowls and a host of other things. I love it. If you haven't tried it, this offer is a really good deal. If you like it, they have a recurring offer of a medium mailing box of pen blanks (they say 114 of them) for $59. If you can catch them at a time they're offering free shipping this is a really good deal. I've never found a void in any of the ones I've turned.

Some of the blanks in the last box I ordered are their new product Dymalux, their new product. Plies are finer and the resin shines when turned. They advertised that you don't even need to put polish on it after sanding to 12K with MM. I took them at their word and they are right. Just sanding leaves a smooth, warm matte finish. I'm a fan.

lhowell