closed end pen???

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

If I were to make a closed end pen what would be a good kit to use with it??? It would have to be a twist kit I assume???

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rick_lindsey

I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure I've seen pictures of closed-end pens that were rollerball and/or fountain pens. You just can't post the cap in those cases. A closed-end click pen might be tough, but I bet someone could find a way :).

-Rick

jttheclockman

I do not want to take the cap off. I am thinking a slimline or a cigar kit would work or am I thinking wrong??? That has happened once.

Rudy Vey

JT, I have only made capped pens, i.e. rollerballs or fountain pens as closed end pens. Made my own pin chucks. For some years now, I always made a special closed end pen for the PITH based on the El Grande.

Russianwolf

Slims are easy.

1) drill hole without going all the way through.
2) glue the tube in
3) use a jamb chuck (in a jacob's chuch or scroll chuck) to turn it and calipers to size the open end.

Not too tricky

Cigars and sierras can be done too, but you have to make sure that whats grabbing the tranny is taken into consideration.

what engages the tranny isn't the tube in either, but a part of the finial. On the Cigar this piece can be pressed into the tube without modification, not sure about the Sierra. But since both use the same tranny size, a cigar finial could be used to activate a closed end Sierra. You just have to make sure you get the depth right when you press it in.

Yo-Yo Spin (Ed) has made some closed end Cigars and they are in his photos I believe.

Heres one of my single body closed end slims

Attachments

• Purpleheart Closedend.jpg
    Purpleheart Closedend.jpg
    44.4 KB · Views: 200

RussFairfield

Passed Away 2011
In Memoriam
There isn't a pen kit made that can't be closed on both ends with some planning and ingenuity. Some just take a lot more of both.