2 New Cigars & a Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Craftdiggity

First, a Spalted Maple Cigar with ten coats of BLO/CA or CA/BLO, whatever the difference is:confused::

SpaltedMaple.jpg

Second, a Red Raspberry Alabaster Cigar with 5 coats of BLO/CA or CA/BLO...whatever the difference is:confused:

RedRaspberry.jpg

Anyone who bought stone blanks from me, this is the new color I was talking about. It is sweeeeet. My favorite so far.

QUESTION: How do you cats get the CA finish to such a glass-like shine?

These pens are sanded up to 1200, and each has a nice looking finish. 10 coats for the spalted maple, and I could've stopped at 4 or 5 and gotten the same results. Some of the pens I've seen on this site look like mirrors. Now these are the first successful CA finishes I've applied, so I am by no means an expert, but what is the secret? Do I need to keep applying it until it builds up more? Seems like ten should've been enough.

Chris

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rsmith

#1) props for using the term "cats" in a cohearant sentence:cool:
#2)love the alabaster color, REAL nice

As far as the CA shine? are you doing anything to finish them after applying the ca? Most times you can go through most of your sandpaper and MM again, then finish with a plastic polish. If there are enough coats, then is should shine like a mirror, but I personally have had zero luck with a super shiny CA finish on stone. I don't know why, but it just doesn't work well for me. Not that my wood shines much more anyway:rolleyes: but I found it more difficult on stone

Craftdiggity

To be honest, I never thought of applying plastic polish. I'll definitely give it a try. I was unsure of whether I needed to continue sanding since each coat turned out perfectly smooth with no imperfections. I was hesitant to touch it with sandpaper since each coat seems so thin. I don't have MM, so that wasn't even an option today.

Chris

lazyguy