work bench and tool advice

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

CaptainJane

Hello all

I am about to join your ranks, and buy my first lathe. I am a novice model ship builder, and want to use the lathe eventually to add more detail to my models. Pens look like a great way to acquire some skills, and have a ton of fun too.

1. I plan to buy a Jet 1221 VS (unless someone here can convince me something else is better), and need a bench or stand to put the lathe on. My "shop" is about 10'x 10', and has no cabinets or benches - just walls and floor. I am 5'-06" tall, and am considering getting the Harbor Freight bench w/4 drawers, or perhaps a work-mate. However, the Harbor Freight bench may be a little too tall.

For the Harbor Freight bench - Is it difficuly to shorten the legs on this bench?
What is involved?

Other not-too-expensive suggestions for bench or stand?

I work on ships out of the country, and am home for only 3-1/2 week spurts, so I do not have time for much DIY fabrication. I am trying to do my shopping from afar, so I wil be ready when I get home this time or the next.

2. The local store really pushes the carbide replaceable blade tools. Is it advisable to take that easy route, or better to buy quality traditional tools?

Thank you in advance for your replies.

JBS

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

plantman