What respirator to buy?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

curlymaplefan

I have been using a lot of ca..and when I turn it..ya know I get this big ball of white smoke!!!!yuk..and ca just is nasty all around

It just makes me ill.... I need a respirator,what do you think I should buy

Thanks
Jim

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

broitblat

I've been using the Triton powered respirator for a few months, now. As I've mentioned before, I find it pretty comfortable, but I haven't used it in the heat of summer, yet.

My only complaints are that it may cut out too much of the noise -- I want to hear what my turnings are doing!? Oh, and I have to remember I can't blow sawdust away through the face shield.

As I understand it, neither the Triton or the Trend are really rated to keep out CA fumes. They are meant more for larger (dust) particles. I (at least) don't smell the CA while wearing the respirator, but I don't think that necessarily means you are protected.

-Barry

Daniel

If you have a safety supply store near by I suggest you see them. they can fit you, test you and all. Every one I have been to does this free of charge. fumes and dust have different filter cartridges. and different fumes need different cartridges sometimes. if you tell them you will be working around dust and acitone they will be able to find you the right filter. I wear a half mask respirator. it is actually very comfortable but I had to actually get a physical to be able to use it. the full head thing with a fan is a much better idea. I first got mine to work around massive amounts of hydrachloric acid. Man talk about knowing when the seal on your face got broken. my eyes would water for several minutes if I got even a whiff. Taught me proper care of the respirator though.

leehljp

Member Liaison
I have a dual canister mask that fits tight enough that it doesn't leak and fog my glasses. It does well for fumes and dust.