Watch Part Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

johndrew

195 Grand Crest Dr, Russellville, Ar 72802
I am new to making pens and the idea of using watch parts is very interesting.

Could I place the watch parts on a black piece of soft cloth, leave a gap in the parts for the backside. take a picture and use it inside the pour? Would this give almost the same effect, and then the dup photos could be used in additional pens?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Russianwolf

yes, you can do that. I recall someone a while back doing the exact same thing on snakeskin so he wouldn't waste materials while he was working on technique. Someone even mentioned this same concept recently with the "embossed papers" (for lack of a better term) so that they would still have a 3d effect.

workinforwood

The next problem is the seam. You wrap a photo and there will be a seam and because the photo has all these gears and parts on it they won't match up at the seam. A photo of a snake skin would work ok, because the skin is pretty much the same all around and so busy it blends itself together, but not watch parts.

alphageek

Former Moderator
The next big step is to use gears that work...

Even with access to all the cool toys you have Bruce, my brain can't wrap around any way to make that work... Even with really tiny gears that don't need bending.

Not that its NOT possible, but that would be a mindblowing pen, thats for sure.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
C'mon Dean--small worm gears could be made to mesh.

Now, keeping them on the tubes???????????

And keeping KIDS away from them??????????

btboone

I could see a ring gear around the tube and 3 or 4 planet gears coming off 90 degrees to that contacting another ring gear. It could be made to move when the pen was twisted. It would definitely be a challenge. One I wouldn't mind taking up if I had the time. Maybe one day I'll retire and do cool stuff like that.

Drstrangefart