Upgrading to a new Nikon

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Old Griz

Passed Away Oct 4, 2013
In Memoriam
I got permission from SWHTM to upgrade to a new Nikon SLR Digital...
Debating between the D50 and the D70s...
Both are fantastic cameras and will accept all my autofocus lenses from my F5 film camera...
Price difference is about $250 for the body.... and they use different memory cards...

Does anyone have any first hand experiance with these cameras... right now I am leaning more to the D50 because of price and the fact I need a camera my wife can use easily... I am more of the technical photographer (at least with film) and want more bells and whistles..
Nikon Customer Service actually recommended the D50 over the D70s...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

nilsatcraft

I have no experience with the D50 but I've used the D70 and I love it. It's more user friendly than you'd expect. I've used some other really high end Nikon cameras that I can barely turn on, let alone adjust properly. I used the D70 easily with no instruction and the pictures were, of course, amazing- even with mediocre lighting. If the D50 is anything like the D70 then you're in a win-win situation. Have fun with that, Griz!

rtjw

I hate them both. I just bought the D50 about a month ago. Trying to get rid of it. The D50 means you say D@*$ 50 times each time you take a picture.

Dario

Tom,

Try these reviews...might help you make your decision.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond50/
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond70/

For a side by side comparison:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/compare_post.asp?method=sidebyside&cameras=nikon_d50%2Cnikon_d70&show=all

I just bought a new digital camera too, a lot cheaper and not quite a Nikon but I am very happy with it. Will post some sample pics later once I find time to play with it more.

fritzmccorkle