Threading tap dies etc.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alexkuzn

Hi Guys and Gals!

I was looking for any info about threading pens without a metalworking lathe in other words threading with tap and dies, but can't find much information.
It might be due my my lack of knowledge of proper terms(I am a pen turning newbie). I apologies if I am asking something that was already discussed many times here.

Here is my questions I was trying to fund answers for:
1. Is there any link where I can find kitless pen tutorials?
2. What size taps and dies are usually used for caps?
3. What supplier sells standard size thread nibs for kitless pens?

Any useful links or advise will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Alex

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ldb2000

Alex , there are several threads about threading (pun intended) going on right now , just read the advanced forum posts . As for tutorials , there are none that I know of .
There are several different sizes of taps and dies used on "Cap" pens but the only currently available tap and die set is for the El Grande/Ligero and they aren't really available yet , there is a possible group buy going on now , check the "group buy" thread in the classifieds .
The threads for the Caps and barrels are a triple start threading , this means that there 3 sets of threads combined as one . These types of taps and dies are very expensive , I paid a little over $200 for my set in the last group buy , and they are special order . You can't go to your local Ace hardware and buy them .
As for nib section threads , there are no standard sizes . The threads for the El Grande/Ligero is not quite a 10x1 mm but we have found that size is close enough to work .