This happened while turning a pen yesterday...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

In2Fish

Good Day All

I was turning the finished pictured pen yesterday. the pen is made with materials I obtained on an amazon river expedition in Peru last year. i embedded a small amount of sand cured in UV resin, and had a few blowouts of the resin. I had to redo the sand segment about 4 times, so I decided to use some thin CA to help keep things in place. after I sprayed the blank with accelerator, the CA glue expanded wildly as showing in the 2nd pictures.

What caused the CA expansion? i've not seen that before. and i've been using CA in other woodworking projects for about 4 years.

I sanded it down, and continue to finish my pen which turned out nicely. This is my 14th pen and only my 2nd pen sale. I sold it yesterday for $40 in an auction to a group that's generally thrifty with their money, so I was very pleased. if it went over $40 I was going to donate the money over $40 to Project Amazonas, a US based humanitarian group that operates in Peru. https://www.projectamazonas.org/

The outer segments are mahogany, the inner segments are bloodwood, and the center band is the sand cured it UV resin.

20240302_095000-2.jpg
20240302_084208.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

egnald

One of the reasons that CA will foam up like that is from curing too quickly. The CA actually boils while it is curing and the bubbles cure into the foam. I don't know if that's what caused your situation though. - Glad you were able to recover your pen. Very cool idea on how you embedded the sand on basically a wood bodied pen. - Dave

Kenny Durrant