The musings of an old curmudgeon.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Russ Hewitt

I have been woodturning and pen turning off and on for 20 years. I consider myself to be a solid intermediate turner for your consideration, or my following observations.

• After your first 25 practice pens, no one should turn a slim line, or other low dollar kit. They are of poor quality and give all pen turners a bad name.
  • What is with all of the bulbous looking beginners pens? They look like they have type of malignant growth. Have you ever seen a professional pen maker make this garbage. Beginners put photographs of them online and everyone raves about them. We should tell them that they look hideous so they stop making them. Pen barrels should be flat or maybe have a slight contour.
  • Kitless and Bespoke pens. I spent a ton of money to be able to make these. I also spent countless hours perfecting the skills to make a really nice kitless pen. That said, they aren't as practical or nice looking as most of the better kits available. Now I make them just for bragging rights.
  • Kits. Why spent you time to make a pen out of a junk kit. You end up with a junk pen. You don't have to spend $40 or $50 on a kit, but if it's under $10, chances are it not worth making.
  • Blanks. Why make a pen with a Blah blank. I have dozens of blanks sitting in a reject box because, after they arrived, they didn't measure up to the sales ad. The same can be said for wood blanks. If a wood blank doesn't pop with figure and color, it too goes in a reject box. You can't start with inferior components and end up with a top shelf pen. Time is everything!!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Hartwell85

I've thought the same thing about bulbous pens. Slimline pens are great to start out with to develop your skills. I've moved on to the better and stylish kits. Same thoughts on blanks that don't measure up. Been there.

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator