Teacher needs guidance

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

iamsam

I would like to apply a finish on a pen that holds up and does not take a long time to complete. I am basically new at turning. I teach school and would like to show my students how this might be done. Kids want instant results now a days.Can somebody list the steps and best materials to use? I will try it myself before I share it with the kids. Thanks........

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dario

Sadly the one that comes to mind is CA...something you probably don't want students to be working with without proper respiratory protection (among others).

If you want to try it, search for CA finishing. Fangar recently did a how-to...it is not the simplest but check the results for your self. [:)]

JimGo

Another option is to simply turn the pen using a hard, oily wood like Cocobolo, Lignum Vitae, African Blackwood, Olive, etc. If you use MicroMesh and/or something like EEE on them, those woods don't need much of a finish at all, especially if you're OK with a satin-type (i.e. non-high-gloss) finish. You can then get away with just applying some TSW, letting that cure, and buffing to get a very nice shine.

pete00

How about

no finish at all, but shiny and kinda clever.(burnishing)

After turning and sanding take a piece of pine or some shavings.
While lathe is still on use them to "sand" the piece.
If you use shavings hold them with a rag while putting it on the wood.
May get hot, You'll be supprised at the results you get.
You can then use some common furniture polish if you want.

pete

wood-of-1kind

BUFFING method comes to mind. I am really surprised that this method does not get the respect that it deserves. It is easy to apply and very easy on the lungs. Apply the three compounds and buff away for an almost instant result.

-Peter-[^]

mrcook4570

Originally posted by iamsam