Some amateur thoughts on lathes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RogerBean

First the disclaimer: I am not a lathe expert, and am certainly not a master machinist, so this isn't intended to be a comprehensive review. It is only a description of my experience over the past three decades as an on and off hobby machinist whose interests have shifted several times, leaving me with several different machines. I speak here with particular emphasis on pen making.

About thirty years ago I bought a 12 x 36 Cheves brand (also sold as Center brand) geared head precision toolroom lathe, primarily for gun work. As a first lathe, I had a lot of optimism and precious little skill. At about 1200 lb with the stand, it is pretty big. But after a while I got to where I could do some useful work. I still like this lathe, and have no great urge to get rid of it, but I hardly use it any more, and not at all for pen work.

attachment.php

For chambering and threading the barrel of a 45-70, it is just the tool. For pens, not so much. Yes, it would work, and I'm sure some guys make fine pens on big lathes, but it doesn't feel like the right tool for me.

I was fortunate to spend two summer visits with Andrew Crawford, the extraordinary English box maker. He says that one big key to making wonderful boxes, is "to learn to work in small scale." i.e. the right size and type of tools, jigs, and fixtures. Boxes are simply different from furniture, carpentry, and cabinet making. You have to learn to think small. I think a similar logic applies to pen making.