Slab table advice?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Woodnknots

I am making a table for someone from a crosscut slab of black walnut. I have some theories on how best to stabilize the growth rings and finish the table, but as this is my first time ever doing this, I would like some help. The slabs are a bit cracked, but pretty uniformly in most places, and where they are not uniform, I can inlay butterflies to fix it. These slabs were cut two years ago to about 6 inches thick, and then milled this weekend on a woodmizer to about 1-1/2 inches thick. a couple are about 3 inches thick. My gut says that they should be pretty dry, so not likely to move dramatically. But I need to stabilize it so I can add legs and finish. My initial idea was to use self-leveling epoxy for table tops. Any thoughts on that? I know that this is primarily a penturning site, but I also know that there are some talented "flatworkers" here.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DWK5150

The few that I have made I used redwood slabs and just used a epoxy finish on them and didnt have any problems with that at all. Sounds like you are going to use butterflys in the cracked areas which I also did. You might want to check the moisture though on the pieces that were more towards the center of the block cause 6" is prety thick and those might not be dry.

Woodnknots

Originally posted by DWK5150
<br />The few that I have made I used redwood slabs and just used a epoxy finish on them and didnt have any problems with that at all. Sounds like you are going to use butterflys in the cracked areas which I also did. You might want to check the moisture though on the pieces that were more towards the center of the block cause 6" is prety thick and those might not be dry.