Sanding Sealer for which woods?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

hobby_dale

I spent some time looking through the search, regarding when to use a sanding sealer and when not to. The general comment was some woods will take it and others won't, depending on their intrinsic oils.

Therefore, I guess I am wondering if you all could share your experience on which woods do need a sanding sealer and which ones don't.

Since I am new to sanding sealers, I am not that familar with them. So Mylands SS, as compared to Enduro, are the same in my mind.

TIA,
Dale

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Old Griz

Passed Away Oct 4, 2013
In Memoriam
Have not had a problem with sanding sealer on any of the woods I use... I generally wipe all my blanks with DNA before putting the sealer on anyway so that removes some of the surface oils...
In fact on some very oil woods like Cocobolo and BLO I prefer sanding sealer as a base coat to my CA or TSW finish

MDWine

I think I am starting to use it more and more. I used it on the Bocote, because it is an open pored wood. The SS fills in the pores, and makes a smoother finish. Sometimes I don't want it all that "glossy", so I may use only one coat. I noticed on my recent Bocote, that the friction polish also fills in a bit, and makes a rather nice finish for me. I think I used one coat of SS on the Mesquite Cigar, and it filled in nicely. HTH[:)]

hobby_dale

So are there differences in the sanding sealers? For those of you that use Enduro, do you use a different SS or the one the comes with Enduro?

coach

I use the Myland's SS. It has greatly improved my finishes. I use them on all woods. I plan on using Tom's tip on the DN alcohol as soon as I can get some.

tomwojeck

Along the lines of sanding sealer, when you put it on, do you then buff with 0000 steel wool or something similar to make sure that it's even before applying the finish?

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus