Resin blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Twojugs

As a complete novice, could you confirm that when turners refer to "acrylic" blanks, they actually mean cast epoxy? I have done some epoxy casting, but keep seeing reference to acrylic? Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JohnU

I think most commonly …. acrylic would be the commercial made "acrylic" blanks but it really all depends on the individual posting. Custom casts from individuals could be made out of epoxy, polyester, or urethane resins. They are usually called by the resin or brand used to make them like Silmar or Alumilite. It all depends on the blank. Some resins work better for certain casts than others. You'll get the hang of it eventually, after hanging out here a while.

Acrylic has kind of become a generic turn for blanks people cast whether is it hybrid (wood with a resin) or pure resin. The resins are typically either polyurethane based or epoxy. Some variation within that but that is a very simplified answer.

I do not recommend attempting acrylic blanks until you are more experienced and comfortable turning. You need carbide tools for that primarily and they can chip out and break if your not careful. Don't rush into it, you will get to them in due time.

MRDucks2

As John stated, and is well documented on this site, true "Acrylic" is a commercial made product that none is ping to cast themselves. There are few Acrylic blanks out there but not many. WoodTurningz used to sell some in a multicolor layered look.

WoodTurningz also sells Inlace Acrylester blanks sometimes referred to as IA or Acrylester. These are Acrylic but a very hard set Polyester Resin similar to Rhino Blanks and one other I forget the name of. They are chip prone while machining which can be made better by either better technique or certain tools.