Pulled the Trigger (Finally!) 1221vs Ordered

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JohnGreco

After wrestling for some time over which lathe to get I finally pulled the trigger and ordered the Jet 1221vs off of Amazon for $799 with free shipping. Many thanks to everybody who offered advice earlier this year. It definitely helped me figure out what I was looking for in a lathe, and I think this new Jet really seems like it fits the bill.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dick Mahany

Way to go

Congrats on the order. Of course you know it is expected now that we'll get a full review and pics once you get it up and running :biggrin: ! It looks to be an excellent lathe from the specs. I have a Jet 1642 and it is a quality tool. Hopefully this new model will also be great!

JohnGreco

The lathe finally arrive today! I haven't had the chance to try it yet, but my initial thoughts:

- The upper belt cover was busted. I'm no forensic scientist, but I'm betting the footprint on the box right over this part may have had something to do with it. Spent 5 minutes on the phone with Jet trying to get them to Stop telling me to contact Amazon for a replacement cover.

- Upgrading from a little VS ShopFox, this thing is a BEAST! I think it could eat my old lathe as a snack. It also sits higher, so the bench that I made to have my old lathe sit a little high now has this sitting higher yet. It might be OK, will have to see. My back surgeon may prefer it this way for me :)

- It makes NO sound until you hit about 200rpm, and then it is still pleasantly quiet. Will be interested to see how it is under load.

- Alignment is spot-on. Horizontally and vertically. Tailstock has almost no play whatsoever in the bed, and the spindle has none at all that I can see. This 'slop' was one of my biggest pet peeves with the old lathe (which is now a buffer).