PR vs EPOXY casting resin

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

I am often asked, "Why do you cast snake blanks using polyester resin and not epoxy?" I like using epoxy for casting with dyes and pigments: easy to cast and turns and polishes well after fully cured. The blanks on the left and right were cast in 2019 with one of the epoxy resins we all use and have been in a shoebox on a shelf since then. The center blank was cast with polyester resin and has been in the reject bin for a few yrs also. I got it off the bottom. The picture answers the opening question. I'm not ragging on epoxy just relaying information.
Do a good turn daily!
Don
20220326_160317-01.jpeg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

I believe you brought this up not long ago with the same examples. At that time I believe my question was do you think that the skins have a reaction with the epoxy resin as opposed to it yellowing in all cases? Because I have been using epoxy resins for 2 years now at least and have not seen a difference in the castings. I like to use epoxy because of less bubbles when doing blanks like I do. I have used silmar for some blanks and still sometimes get a crazing for a lack of a better word and with epoxy none.

Maybe other have seen this with something other than skins. Interesting.

its_virgil

I believe you brought this up not long ago with the same examples. At that time I believe my question was do you think that the skins have a reaction with the epoxy resin as opposed to it yellowing in all cases? Because I have been using epoxy resins for 2 years now at least and have not seen a difference in the castings. I like to use epoxy because of less bubbles when doing blanks like I do. I have used silmar for some blanks and still sometimes get a crazing for a lack of a better word and with epoxy none.

Maybe other have seen this with something other than skins. Interesting.