New with a question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dhallnc

Hello. My name is Darryl and I live in N.C. I am completely new to turning. I have recently bought a Delta midi & set of HSS Delta turning tools. Still need a grinder.

I plan to start this adventure with slimline pen kits & cheap blanks since I don't know what I'm doing.

I have read that the centers that come with the lathe are not made for the 60 deg. mandrels and will cause problems. Is this true?

I want to get it all together & get started with the learning process, so any and all suggestions are welcome.

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ossaguy

Welcome Darryl!

I'm a beginner last year,and have learned a lot along the way.I did buy the 60 degree big cone-looking live center & that worked ok,but recently bought the "Mandel Saver" from PSI and I like that so much better.It's way faster to work with and it keeps from bending the mandrel.It's nice not having to mess with the knurled knob anymore.

If I had to do it over again,I'd get that one instead of the cone-shaped one.Just my 2 cents.........

It's only about 15 bucks,if I remember right.

Take care,
Steve

its_virgil

Welcome Darryl.

A 60 degree live center would be a good tool to add. The mandrel saver has gotten mixed reviews. Guys I've talked to either really really like it or they don't. You could give it a try and see if you like it. I have no problem with mandrels needing saved so I've not used one.

Don't over tighten the brass nut and the tail stock quill. Both will cause problems with your pens being out of round if over tightened.

Sharpening can be done without a grinder. So some searching and you will find some alternatives such as sandpaper on a flat surface or a disc or belt sander if you already have one of those.

You may want to consider an adjustable mandrel and turn the pens one barrel at a time. It isn't really any quicker to do both at the same time.