New Turner, Titebond CA Aggrivation

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BlackGoatWW

Grrrr

I am new to pen turning and I am trying to get my CA finish down because I just want to have that nice shiny appearance. I just bought some BRAND new titebond thin and medium from woodcraft yesterday. I went to apply some to an acrylic blank today and a few drops of thin dried in 1-2 seconds (lathe off) sticking my paper towel to the blank and causing me to have to scrape it off and re-sand. Second time I tried, same issue. This was a first coat so there was no left over accelerator or anything. I just cant seem to get a good finish with CA, every single time Ive tried I have had some sticking or hazing issues.

Titebond and/or stickfast CA glue
Stickfast accelerator

I gave up and ordered some gluboost but no idea how long it will take to actually get it.

Just wanted to vent and see if anyond had any wisdom or if this is just part of the normal learning curve.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jeff

Administrator
Staff member
Here's a thread you might find interesting:

I sand/micromesh to a high grit, then buff with a plastic polish. Except for wood/acrylic hybrid blanks, I've never found it necessary to use a finish on acrylic.

BlackGoatWW

Here's a thread you might find interesting:

I sand/micromesh to a high grit, then buff with a plastic polish. Except for wood/acrylic hybrid blanks, I've never found it necessary to use a finish on acrylic.

Thats great info! Thank you! Wish I would have known that 4 hours ago...🤣

magpens

I have never found the need to use CA on non-wood blanks.

When I want a really shiny "plastic" pen, I use Rhinoplastics material .... avail. from their website, or from ExoticBlanks and other vendors.
Rhinoplastic material is not the easiest to turn ... it is rather hard and brittle. . It is necessary to take of small amounts to avoid chipping.

You can get quite a good shine from the usual "Acrylic Acetate" blanks (AA).