New to turning....CA issues

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jrich7970

Hi guys. New to all this, only on my third pen, so I realize I have no experience, but perhaps you could give me a few tips. I've started with the slimline, which I have read is where a lot of people start.

My issues so far have been with finishing. But the issues don't seem to be what most of the posts I see are about, but I bet a lot of you have had similar problems. I'm posting some pictures and will describe what went on.

Diagnoal Ridges.jpg

So this was my first effort. The wood was perfectly smooth, but, after I finished and put the pen together, I noticed these marks running diagonally. I now know to inspect the blanks before I assemble the pen, but how did these get on an angle? I know it's too late for this pen now, and fortunately it only cost me less than $5 for this mistake, but if I can avoid it in the future, that would be particularly awesome. I can detail what I did with regard to application, sanding, etc.

CA Build Up.jpg

My second one was perhaps even worse. I noticed the diagonal ridges again, and sanded down almost to bare wood and started over on the CA again. But it looks like I put soooo much on that it built up increased the size of the pen. I swear that the wood was perfectly sized to the bushings before I started the CA.

There are other problems I had, but I can go into them later.

I have a third pen I've turned, but I'm almost afraid to finish it because it so darn beautiful and smooth as glass. I'm afraid to mess it up. But, in reality, I also need to get a grip...it's only a $3 blank.

My intention is to grab a hunk of spare wood I have laying around, turn it smooth, then start with the CA. Sand it off (or turn it off), try again. Sand it off, try again. Over and over until I figure it out.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Jeff

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dgsearle