New to turning and to IAP, from Minnesota

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

twelverobots

Wow, what an inspirational place. Just poking around here and looking at threads and photos I already have a lot of new plans for pens (and pencils, and seam rippers) to turn.

My name is Jason, I live in Farmington, MN. I am a computer programmer and a hobbyist turner. I got my lathe in December and started turning pens about six weeks ago. I'm pretty well hooked now.

I recently finished grad school, and my kids are getting old enough that they don't need my attention anymore, so I found a hobby to occupy my time. I have had to force myself to slow down and spend less time in the shop. In addition to not wanting to burn out right away, I can't afford to keep making 10 pens a week. To help me slow down, and to challenge myself, I decided to jump into segmenting. Lots of glue and lots of patience. I've also started harvesting and cutting some of my own blanks when I can find available wood.

Here are some of my pens.

DSC_0924.jpg
DSC_0931.jpg
DSC_0937.jpg
DSC_0941.jpg
DSC_0946.jpg

Attachments

• DSC_0940.jpg
    DSC_0940.jpg
    142.2 KB · Views: 63
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenB259

Nice job, on most of them šŸ¤£, I'm not a fan of your second ones, the spalted set, but to each his own. I enjoy the segmenting aspect too, so many roads to go down, one design leads to another which leads to another jig you need, there's no end. Lots to learn here, enjoy.

Wow, what an inspirational place. Just poking around here and looking at threads and photos I already have a lot of new plans for pens (and pencils, and seam rippers) to turn.

My name is Jason, I live in Farmington, MN. I am a computer programmer and a hobbyist turner. I got my lathe in December and started turning pens about six weeks ago. I'm pretty well hooked now.