New to the site

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TexasTaxi

My name is Kevin, and I live outside Houston, Texas. I am a piping designer by day and a taxidermist by night. I also do a little wood work; building custom pedestals and bases for other taxidermists, all over the United States.

I started turning pens about two years ago, when I was trying to find something to do with all the scraps from my woodshop. I had no idea that it would be the most addicting hobby that I'd ever have.

Looking back, my first pens were horrible and they've come a LONG way, but still could go so much further. I hope to learn from all of you and maybe one day I won't be embarrassed to post some pictures. :redface:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sam@CSUSA

Welcome to the group! There are lots of great turners here who are very willing to give any help they can. I'm sure you'll find this site an excellent source of not only skill and technique but camaraderie as well. Cheers!

bensoelberg

Welcome! Go ahead and post your pictures, you'll find that this group is really great at giving constructive criticism that will really help you improve. No one will insult you or your pen, if you ask for comments/criticisms they'll just give some advice on improving the fit/finish/form while telling you how great a job you did. Post away!

Padre

Welcome from Connecticut. Show us some pics of your work!

renowb

Welcome from Spring, TX right up the road from you! I grew up in Rosenberg. Graduated from Lamar Cons High, 69.

TexasTaxi

My other passion is bow hunting and I'm addicted to a forum related to that.
If this one, gets as addictive as that one, I'll never get anything done! :redface:

After I got past the phase of trying to make all kinds of goofy shapes, I feel like most of my pens are astetically pleasing. I think my biggest downfall is my finish. I've tried the CA but haven't got the results I was hoping for. Looking for tips on that is actually how I found this forum.