New and VERY uninformed

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

flyfisher48

Hi. I am new to pen turning. My wife thought I needed another hobby to add to my others. She was right. I am hooked. I live in Farmington, NM. It is the nearest medium sized town to the Four Corners. I have turned about 20 practice pens and am looking to expand my abilities.

Not sure if this is the spot to ask but: I have read conflicting instructions about the speed to bein turning. One spot says start hi to with the gouge and then slow down for the skew another says the opposite. Which is correct for wood and does anything change with acrylics?:beat-up:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PenMan1

Hi Werner, and welcome to the madness! You will find a lot of useful and sometimes conflicting information on the site. But, even when we disagree, we all agree that this is the most useful penmaking forum on the web.

As for your question about turning speeds. I'll bet if you poll all of the members here that you would find that just about every lathe speed is somebody's favorite turning speed.

As for me, when I first started making pens, I drilled on the lathe at 500 rpms (my slowest speed). I knocked off wooden corners with a spindle gouge at 3000+ rpms, and then slowed down to 2000 rpms for skew or round nose scraper work. MANY OTHERS DO IT DIFFERENTLY, as do I, now that I am more comfortable with my lathe, my tools and my abilities.

I recommend that you go to HD and buy an 8 foot 1X4 poplar board and cut it into 3/4 x 3/4 X 5 inch pen blanks. This board will not be very expensive (and they even make ok pens) and it will give you enough blanks to try every speed and find out what speed "suits" you. THAT IS THE CORRECT SPEED TO USE, FOR YOU.

Respectfully submitted

MartinPens

Welcome to an awesome forum!
There is so much information on this site and through its members that you will be amazed.