Necessary Equipment

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Queso

This may seem like a silly question, but I'm still a rookie at this.

What equipment do I need to begin to turn pens? I'm a novice turner. Up until now I've been turning on a $99 special from Harbor Freight at my Dad's shop. I've made some nice rattles and a few ugly bowls.

As a graduation present my folks got me a Jet mini-lathe. I also own a small 3-wheel bandsaw (garage sale special) and an old grinder.

So, I'd like to make two lists.

1. Mandatory items to turn pens correctly.
2. Nice to have stuff.

Here's what I have on the lists.

1. Mandrels (#2MT)
Pen kits
pen mill - to square blank to the tube, right?
sand paper
micro mesh
super glue - is there more than one kind used?
finishes

Table saw

Also, how do you drill the blanks? Most small drill presses don't have the clearance to drill through a 6 inch blank.

Again, any help you can offer is greatly appreciated. BTW, I'm moving next week to suburban Detroit, so if anyone on this site is in the area, and would be willing to let me observe and learn I sure be grateful.

Paul sends...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tipusnr

Your list is pretty complete for a start-up. Generally you'll be cutting the blanks to smaller lengths before drilling them but a drill press (floor model) with a long throw would be excellent.

Generally you'll want a 3" throw minimum. Mine doesn't go that far so I have to set my blank in the drilling jig (home made), drill to the maximum depth, turn off the drill press, insert a block under the jig (making sure the drill bit is still in the center of my hole), turn on the drill press and finish the hole.