My new wood needs stabilized, but I think I'm going to need help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

civilwartalk

So, last night I received a very special gift from someone I trust, but now I have a small tote sitting in front of my garage with some rotting wood scraps that I was not prepared to process into blanks, and I'm pretty sure they will need to be stabilized before I do anything with them.

First, how big of a rush should I be to get this stabilized, I'm assuming, the sooner, the better. At least that's my first reaction...

If the wood need to wait for a while before I stabilize it, is there some way I can keep it safe while it waits?

Admittedly, I do want to get into the process of stabilizing blanks, but I am just getting started with turning and making pens, and I don't have the equipment, nor do I want to risk messing things up with what I believe is pretty valuable wood, at least to my circle of friends.

So, is there anyone near the Shenandoah Valley in West Virginia with the knowledge & equipment to stabilize blanks that would be willing to help me with these, and maybe teach me how to get started stabilizing wood?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dehn0045

I'd suggest sending it off to get professionally stabilized ( http://www.kandgstabilizing.com/sending-in-wood.html ). I have not used K&G, but have heard from others that had good experiences. There are others out there, but I believe K&G is the gold standard. If it is valuable wood that is irreplaceable then I would spend a few extra bucks to go with a professional outfit. I find that the blanks that I stabilized myself using Cactus Juice, while good, are not quite as good as the professionally stabilized pieces I have used. Just my 2 cents.

civilwartalk