My 3rd pen ever (& a bottle stopper)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
So, I need to work on my "posing the pen" photos (& lighting!), but this is my 3rd ever completed pen (I just started using a lathe for the first time about 6 weeks ago). It's for my dad for Father's Day. It's a Wall Street 2, in 24k gold (I prefer silver, but my dad likes gold so I went with that). I made it from a scrap of Walnut I liked that had lots of figure that I found in the cut off bin at woodcraft (& it took forever to turn!! It was so dense!).
9C1A0606-E889-4C52-BDA5-A3D31C5AFCBC.jpeg

B0A5023C-E40B-47BE-A2C0-A4270F08AD97.jpeg

I did a light/simple CA finish (since I'm not good at it yet & I prefer it to have it not be thick & feel completely like acrylic). Not to toot my own horn too loudly, but I think it turned out pretty well! ☺️

I also made him a Tear Drop wine bottle topper, but I finished it and wrapped it allup before I remembered to photograph it 🤦🏻‍♀️ It's my first successful bottle topper & I made it out of maple & Purple Heart with some thin Cherry veneers between layers. This is after sanding with micro mesh thru all the pads, but before the layers of CA & finishing polish. I think it turned out ok considering I made the blanks myself and had never successfully turned a topper without a blowout disaster.

I'm still getting the hang of turning, but I'm loving it! Thanks for looking ☺️

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

WOW !!! . That walnut is "to die for" !!!

Wish my 3rd pen had been as good as yours !!!

I love the look of your pen and the CA finish is superb !!!

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
I'll second the above comments.

The walnut is beautiful.
Your turning is spot on.
Your finish is simply 'not fair' for your third pen... 🤩 - Superb as I see it.
And, your photos are excellent.

Excellent job.

Beautiful work Lauren . Black Walnut is one of my favorite woods , which my father introduced me too when I was very young. Keep up the good work !!