Morse taper length

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Muddydogs

I've been looking for a new live center but none of the ones I have looked at state a taper length so that leads me to the question on taper length. I got my lathe second hand and it came with a point and cup live center that isn't long enough to eject out of the tail stock quill, I didn't think my lathe did that until I purchased a 60 degree center and drill chuck which I tried and low and behold they ejected. I want to replace the point and cup with one that will eject as it's a pain to catch the edge of the one I have and drive it out. So is my original point and cup short for some reason?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gimpy

I've been a machinist for 47 years and I have never seen or heard
Of no such thing
As far as I know when you have a certain size of taper the lenth
Follows suit, I may be wrong but never heard of no such thing

egnald

There is such a thing as a Short Shank Morse Taper. It is intended to increase the quill travel when used with a Jacobs chuck in the tailstock. You can get more travel out of the tailstock starting out with the quill retracted farther than is possible with a standard Morse taper by starting beyond the point where a standard Morse taper would have ejected. Of course you need to use a Knock-Out-Rod to remove the tool because it is too short for the quill to eject it. (I bought a long screwdriver and cut the bit end off to make my Knock-Out-Rod). - Dave

PS I think the standard length for MT2 is 2.56" Inches. The Shorts that I have seen are 2.375".

Muddydogs

I'll take a pic tomorrow but the MT2 taper is noticeable shorter on the point and cup center when compared to my 60 and drill chuck tapers.

Drewby108