Looking to purchase a non triple start M13.8 die

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

fpokatu

Hi,
I am just getting started with kitless and would prefer to start with a non triple start m13.8 die. However, I can't seem to find any for sale. I was wondering if anyone might have one they would like part with.
Thanks in advance.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Curly

Where do you get the 13.8 designation from? It isn't a normal size and a tap and die of that diameter would be a special order and that isn't cheap. Victor Machinery have a lot of taps and dies in standard sizes and they have a 13 x .75mm die but no matching tap and their 14 x .75mm die is out of stock but naturally have the tap. Victor does have a minimum order of $25 but you can get the drill bits you'll need to make up the order.

Curly

fpokatu

Thanks! I couldn't find any myself.
Any non Ebay pointers appreciated.
FWIW a bunch of videos talk about .8 Maybe that's only the triple start version?
e.g.

thanks again,

Curly

Your only sources of non ebay, Aliexpress, Alibaba, Bangood sites would be the machine tool suppliers like MSC, etc supplying tooling commercial companies.

fpokatu

Amazon has a m13x.75 tap & die set for $20.
Thanks. I think it's diameter is bigger than my holder which is 1" Maybe the solution is to find a bigger holder. I have not graduated yet to being able to make my own yet.

PatrickR

Thanks. I think it's diameter is bigger than my holder which is 1" Maybe the solution is to find a bigger holder. I have not graduated yet to being able to make my own yet.
It doesn't give the diameter but it would be more than 1". that size die would be anywhere you get one (i think the diameters are standardized)

fpokatu

Thanks. Sorry for all the back and forth, but where would I et die holder for it?
Thanks again.

PatrickR

Thanks. Sorry for all the back and forth, but where would I et die holder for it?
Thanks again.
No problem.