Looking for advice on this lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

@jamesfl

That lathe has every appearance of being made in the mainland China factory that makes the "Sieg line" of lathes which appear, with slight variations, in many places under different ..... for lack of a better word ....., "brand" names. . I do not actually know the origin of the name "Sieg", which appears nowhere on the outside of the lathe, but sometimes appears on the printed circuit board inside the cover of the control panel.

For pen work, these lathes seem to be perfectly adequate. . I have been using one for over 10 years and have made about 3000 pens.
It is starting to show its age, in the sense that the cross-feed mechanisms are getting loose.

But overall, I have no complaints.

However, do not expect to machine hard metals like steel with this lathe. . It is fine for brass and aluminum ... and, of course, the woods and plastic materials that we commonly use for pens.

Accessories for the lathe are readily available at ..... littlemachineshop.com ..... and some other places.

I have no experience with this particular website that is advertising this lathe.

jamesfl

Thanks Mal

I've been looking at this for a while now and I have an LMS purchase plan. I'm looking at the 5100 HiTorque 7 X 16 and the 4116 tooling package. I just want to be sure I'm getting the most lathe I can for the 1700 price tag.

I'm thinking the Weiss lathe is as okay as any of them in this range. But what about upgrades and replacement parts for the Weiss?

I don't know the exact metal(s) I want to use with the pens. I would like to be able to work with aluminum and brass for sure. However, I might want to try stainless steel for example, or maybe damascus steel, and don't want to limit myself.