Lathe Maintenance

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Haynie

In another thread, Skiprat said the following"

I have collets and know that they can be the most accurate method of holding properly round material, but a properly cleaned and tuned 3 jaw self centering chuck should be good enough for all but the very best of metal lathes.
This got me thinking that I have never done this and never even thought about it. How do you properly clean and tune a 3 jaw chuck?

Yep, I am still a rank novice.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

frank123

Don't know about the total process of "tuning" a 3 jaw, but I periodically dissemble mine and thoroughly clean the scroll and dry lube it with a dry lube spray. Remove any burrs or rough spots you find.

Grind the jaws for as close to zero run out as possible at close to the diameter you will most commonly be using. Keep the jaws in the same slot every time you remove them and check for run out increasing that would indicate wear that needs them being ground again.

Even a cheap chuck can be kept to a few tenths (.0001) run out with care, and most of us can't really measure accurately to that tolerance anyway. (but cheaper ones won't be as consistent or hold tolerance as long as the better ones will)

There's instructions for doing this in a number of places on the internet.

Haynie

I have been looking and not really finding anything I understand. In fact I read something about grinding the jaws and can't figure out how taking the jaws out of the chuck and grinding will make them true.

How do you grind? In my world grinding something means whip out the angle grinder and smooth out the weld on the pontoon. It is my assumption that this is not what folks mean.

frank123

I have been looking and not really finding anything I understand. In fact I read something about grinding the jaws and can't figure out how taking the jaws out of the chuck and grinding will make them true.