Lathe Advice

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mcnamar

I am a fairly novice woodworker. I have done some pens, 2 bowls, a tool handle, and a wine bottle holder. I am drying some wood for turning bowls and am trying to determine a decent lathe to get that I won't outgrow in very short fashion. Price is a factor, but I don't want to go cheap and outgrow it too soon either. I've been looking at the RIKON 70-220 and the Laguna 12-16. There is about a $200 difference which is still within my price range ($1,000 limit). Any advice I should take into account before pulling the trigger? Are there any opinions on a good lathe within that price limitation? Thanks

Brad

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bsshog40

I can only speak for myself, but when I jumped into turning, I bought me a Grizzly G0462. I've been very happy with it. The only thing I would ask more from it would be a lower min speed. It only goes down to 590rpm. Hasn't affected anything I've done with it but have heard that lower rpms are better for large turnings, which I don't do. (at this time). Lol

turncrazy43

I can only speak about the Rikon. I purchased one in July when my old Delta finally bit the dust. There is a 5 year warrenty on the Rikon. I had problems with the new Rikon. But after a replacement electric box did not solve the problem they sent me a new replacement lathe. The new machine works like a dream. It is capable of doing all that you mentioned. However, the size of the bowls or platters would be restricted to about 12". Which ever one you finally decide on I would recommend getting a base so that you can make it mobile.
Good luck with your search and let us know which one you purchase and how you like it. HAPPY TURNING.
Turncrazy43

philipff

My PM 2035 is old as dirt, American made, bought used and is a working jewel. These days they cost more and they are still a great machine.

John Eldeen