Just saying high

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

hazard

Hi all

I have been doing woodworking for 13 years now. I am located south of Madison WI. I have done alot of the general furniture for my house(dressers/tables/chairs etc.). I got into bowl turning like 10yrs ago so I have a little history with my lathe. Maybe turned 75-100 bowl with another 200 roughed out around the house. I have been sidelined from the hobby for awhile do to young kids and other hobbies.

Another passion in the woodworking hobby for me is cutting and milling logs. I probably have sawed 60 logs for myself and have 4000-5000bf of lumber in my basement/garage/shed/parents backyard. Lots of #1/#2 hardwood lumber. Nothing to die for but very usable. One wood that I would like to use for pens is the apple wood I had milled some time ago. We had an apple orchard up until 5 yrs ago. I cut down some cortland trees that I got 8' logs out of that were probably 10" at the base. Beautiful wood. After thinking about it I remember splitting many 12"-16" dia. red delicious logs when I was a kid.

Over the last few weeks I have been thinking about turning pens. I am getting bored with my other hobby-tropical fish so I need something different. I found this site when I was researching pen making. Tomorrow I am planning to stop at woodcraft and may purchase some general stuff and start turning some pens.

I have a question about the mandrels. Do you guys usually have a bunch of them set up with pens and when you are finishing multiple pen do have like an assembly line where you remove the mandrel when the finish is curing and put another mandrel in. stupid question but I figured I would ask.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad