Jet Mini Maintenance/Tool Rest question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

10scvol

I'm new to pen turning. I am getting some awful queaking from my lathe. The manual does not list any type of maintenance. Are their part that should be oiled/greased on a routine basis?

Also, my tools rest is getting a lot of nicks. How can I prevent this from getting worse? And how can I fix/cover the rest for smooth movement of my chisels?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Chuck C

Tom, Mine gets squeeky sometimes because the tail stock tends to loosen on me. I think that happens on the mini and someone here has a modified holder that fits on the bottom to stop that. I just watch for it and retighten it.
I believe that the tool rest that comes with the mini is powdered metal and would be prone to get nicks. I have a home made tool rest with a SS rod welded to the top of a modified tool rest. This does not nick or dent. Try looking for something like that. I'm sure they sell them. Maybe there is a better way to repair the top. My old one did the same, I touched it up with a file.

JimGo

I wonder if you couldn't glue a UHMW plastic bar to the top (see the Slick Plates and Tape entry here http://www.mlcswoodworking.com/shopsite_sc/store/bargain3.htm ). That's the same plastic they use for other surfaces that are prone to scratches, like mitre gauge guides and saw fences. Any one ever tried it on a tool rest?

lkorn

Originally posted by JimGo
<br />I wonder if you couldn't glue a UHMW plastic bar to the top Any one ever tried it on a tool rest?

I suspect the the forces applied to the rest (from the rotating stock through the cutting tool) would trash the plastic in short order. But what do I know? It might work

JimGo

Good point Larry.