Jet 1221 motor location

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

FGarbrecht

I have a Jet 1221 lathe and the motor is mounted under the ways so every time I turn something a lot of chips and dust accumulates around and on the screen on the end of the motor. Seems like a stupid design, but I'm new to this so maybe its not an issue. I vacuum the screen off frequently, but it still worries me that there is a lot of dust getting sucked into the motor and I've considered making some kind of a shroud or filter to protect the motor. Should I be concerned about this or am I worrying about something I don't need to worry about?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dale Allen

Mine has a similar screen over the end of the motor. I've had it all apart a few times and it should not be a problem. Behind the screen is a fan blade. The motor is sealed against dust so the fan just moves air away from the motor end. At least that is how this amateur sees it. :)

leehljp

Member Liaison
I don't know if this can help in any way but I have two routers in a Router table. Although I have a DC system located in the fence, chips still fall down into the motor. I took a PET 2 liter cola bottle and cut some circles out with a hole just large enough to put over the collet.

I deliberately watched once to see how well it worked and saw dust fall down but it is deflected with the clear custom fit PET flange and the routers still get air for cooling.

Not sure if you could fit a PET shroud above it and still allow air to circulate, but it might be worth a try.

DrD