Is this a good buy?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Doghouse

It is not a bad lathe and if you can get it cheep than it could be a good deal. My concern is the base is light. You will need to add weight and maybe reinforcement if you start turning larger bowls, or off center work.

The bed is better than the HF tube stuff, but http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=34706 is the same thing, new for $75 less.

randbcrafts

I've been using the Harbor Freight lathe for a couple years and haven't had any problems with it. It's nothing fancy but it gets the job done. Also, wait for it to go on sale. They periodically put it on sale for $189-199. Find a coupon on top of that and do even better. Just my thoughts. Hope that helps you some.

OKLAHOMAN

Originally posted by OKLAHOMAN
<br />http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230054412776&ssPageName=ADME:B:WNA:US:12
I could pick this up for $350.00 and was looking for a lathe to turn bowls. I have a Jet mini non veriable speed and was looking to buy a little larger lathe but would keep the Jet also . Thanks for any info....
Thanks for the replys, I guess at this point I will pass on the Delta, I have around $700.00 to spend on a new lathe and will look around some more or just save a little more, unless someone knows of a lathe for $700.00

whatwoodido

The Harbor Freight Lathe is not very good for bowls, the ways/bed are too thin and flex like crazy (it is possible to see the flexing), I have the Iron Bed Delta (14" swing), the ways will not flex at least not visibly. I was pleasantly surpised by the headstock of the Harbor Freight lathe, but if you have to put some pressure on a piece wood using the live center and there is some distance between it and the head stock the bed will flex considerably. The Harbor Freight is a very nice lathe for turning pens.