Inexpensive (cheap) Turning tools advice please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

thewishman

Hey all,

I am just starting out and need to get a couple of turning tools (have been using borrowed tools). The Benjamin's Best tools in the PSI catalog certainly seem to cover the most basic needs (HSS and cheap).

Does anyone have any recommendations? I'm looking at the 3/4" oval skew ($12.95 and the 3/4"x1/8" parting tool ($10.95).

Or, does anyone have tools that they do not use anymore that they would like to sell?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
Chris,

For what it is worth, I bought an incredibly inexpensive 8 piece set from Harbor Freight to learn on before moving up to more expensive tools. I am now on my second set of tools. Sure I have to sharpen a bit more, but it leaves more money for blanks and kits.

thetalbott4

I've had the 8 piece PSI set for 3 years. I think they are the same as the HF set, as they look identical. You do have to sharpen them more, but they work just fine. Learning to sharpen your tools is as important as learning to turn. Put equal emphasis on both and you'll get better faster.

Buzz

A cheap set of Tiawanese tools are best to learn on, they are High Speed Steel and work well. You need to sharpen more often which is good practice anyway. This is what I did and am now gradually adding to the collection with better quality tools now that experience is identifying exactly what I need for the sort of work I do.

Chris

Deere41h

I have two sets of the Harbor Freight turning tools ( 8 in a set ). They work great and for the price you can grind them into any shape you want. No bowl gouge but everything else you need and more. I recommend you give them a try. Can't beat it for the price IMHO. About $35.00.

Johnathan