Howdy

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

McBryde

Hello all,

I am new to the pen turning world, have been reading a lot of material on here, there is just so much! I'm just a poor ole school teacher, lol, and am looking for another hobby. I always like turning bowls, vases, or candlesticks when I go to my grandfathers house, so I figured why not pens as well. I bought a cheap mini lathe at a pawn shop, and am hoping I can rig it up, it's a Shopmate Sabre-Lathe model 2610T0, and seems to have a sanding table in it as well, if that is what that is for. Anyway, hope to get to know some people on here, make some friends, and gain some knowledge from people.

Talk to you on the forums,

Emerson McBryde

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Karin Voorhis

WELCOME TO THE TRAP! You are now about to become warped into a whole new world. stick with us we understand however the outside world will look at you funny when you start to brag about that scrap spalted junk you almost caused an accident pulling over to grab during rush hr thinking that old lady is nuts throwing this to the curb!

mbroberg

IAP Activities Manager, Emeritus
Welcome Emerson! you will make some friends here and you will definitely gain some knowledge. I don't think that you will be any less poor once you fall deeper into the penturning vortex, but it is a lot of fun down here!

KenBrasier

Nice to have you Emerson. This a great site to be involved with as well as having a wealth of information at your fingertips.

McBryde

LOL Karin, my wife already thinks I'm crazy for pulling over to pick up treasures like that on the side of the road, so I guess I'm already half way there.

E

Mac

Nothing Like the real thing. When IAP first started local clubs ,me and a buddy loaded up the wives and went to springfied MO for their first meeting, had a blast ,drove up and back the same day. Also have been to two North Texas meetings I have learned something everytime.

McBryde

Thanks for all the welcomes everyone!