how do you apply ca for a finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

crash

i have read a lot of comments about people using ca as one of their final finishes in pens and stoppers .. my question is how do you apply it.. (mainly with out getting stuck to it..). i guess i am not grasping the methods related to the application..

i am new at this. and just hoping to learn as much as i can ..

thanks
pete

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
Pete,
Jump back to the home page of our site, and there is a nice article on BLO/CA finishing. I do mine slightly differently, but it is a good start. You will likely modify slightly as you learn. BTW, the article list is at the bottom of the home page.

Old Griz

Passed Away Oct 4, 2013
In Memoriam
Pete,

<b>THIS IS NOT MY ORIGINAL IDEA.. FAR FROM IT.. IT IS JUST THE WAY I DO IT
HERE IS THE SYSTEM I USE ... LET ME PREFERENCE THIS BY SAYING.... PLEASE TRY THIS ON SOME SCRAP STUFF FIRST... THIS IS A GREAT FINISH, BUT YOU NEED TO PRACTICE TO GET IT RIGHT... IT IS NOT FOOLPROOF. YOU WILL FIND A COUPLE OF DIFFERENT WAYS TO DO THIS FINISH
...</b>

Basically you will need the following items...
Sanding Sealer.. I use Chestnut Cellulose Sealer I get from Woodturners Supply
Thick Set CA glue and mild accellerator ..
Various grades of sandpaper up to 600 grit which you probably have anyway..
0000 grade steel wool
MicroMesh Kit.. the woodworker kit that goes to 12000 grit..
Hut Plastic Polish or Novus Plastic Polish for the final polish..
After sanding the piece to 400 grit, wipe off all dust and apply a thin coat of sanding sealer and wipe off excess.. let it dry for a couple of minutes and then steel wool smooth... If you are doing a wood with a lot of open grain, you might want to apply the sanding sealer by sanding it into the wood.. this will fill the grain.... then sand again to 400 grit and apply a second coat..