Hoping to "Click" from Vancouver, BC

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hi everyone!

I have turned more pens than I can count from kits, then started combining multiple kits to make pens that met my aesthetic preferences. My favourite kit combination is a round-top European with centre band from a Streamline kit. My pen with the most WOW factor is a towering 22" desk pen (so you don't lose it, and nobody walks away with it).

Now, I am currently working on a kitless pen design and am evaluating whether I get can get a "click" mechanism to work in it. My friend @magpens recommended the Schmidt SKM-88 and SKM-192. If anybody else has recommendations for quality click mechanisms (or has built a click mechanism!), I'd love to hear from you.

My background is furniture making, but my passions are for design and engineering. I like to make things efficient.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Hi Chris !! . . Warm welcome to IAP !! . . Very good to see you !!! . . . . :) :) :D:D . . . and . . . ;);) . . . ! ! !

Don't forget the warnings I gave you about this place . . . . some of the members get very friendly and helpful . . . . ! ! ! !

Also ..... be sure to check out the Library and Resources sections.

Alan Morrison

Welcome to the forum, Chris.
My recommendation for a top quality click pen is the Tempest from Beaufort Ink. Your friend Mal could probably inform you where it can be obtained in Canada.

Alan

PatrickR

Welcome Chris,
Have you looked at Milans pens web site? They carry a variety of click mechanisms. The SKM-88 is a solid choice if you like the look and want it to be quiet. Any of the Schmidt mechs will be well made.
I'll be interested in seeing what you come up with.

Thanks for the greetings @Jim15, @Dalecamino, @PatrickR, @Curly and @egnald.