Help! Issues with Berea Olmsted ballpoint

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

hbillings

Let me start by saying "wow - I love the look and feel of this kit!" If that were not true, I wouldn't be trying so hard to get it right.

Here is a link to the kit.

I have about 1,000 pens under my belt, so I suppose that means I'm not a novice.
I have followed the instructions as closely as possible. I use a caliper to measure where to part the blank for the center band, I make sure both barrels are perfectly clean, and I test that the twist mechanism slides through the upper barrel freely before pressing. And I am very careful to press the parts straight and true.

Each of my first 3 attempts has resulted in non-functioning pens. I cannot for the life of me figure out why, and I can say I've never had this trouble with any other kit. I am also interested in the cigar style, which I've noticed has the same twist mechanism.

I really want to get this right and would appreciate any tips from experience you've had with the Olmsted ballpoint pen kits.

Thanks in advance!
Herb

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
When you assemble the pen, test its operation BEFORE you push the top over the transmission.
Does it work, without the top on?

REMEMBER this is a two way transmission, the refill will be extended when twisted fully right OR left, it is retracted only in the middle transmission position.

magpens

When you say "non-functioning" what, specifically, do you mean ?

Can you twist the cap in both directions ? . If you can, then I presume that the refill does not extend/retract (perhaps due to faulty transmission).
If you can't .... hmmmm.

The instructions emphasize that the transmission must slide freely through the brass tube of the upper barrel

Last edited:

hbillings

When you assemble the pen, test its operation BEFORE you push the top over the transmission.
Does it work, without the top on?