Hello from TN

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hi folks!
I'm a total newbie to turning; a month or so ago I bought a lathe, a good amount of "the trimmings" (carbide tools, assorted shop type tools, a drill press, pen vise, etc) & I have figured out the machines & tools enough to have turned 3 (mostly successful) wood pens, 1 acrylic pen (not very successfully) & 2.5 wine bottle stoppers.

I also have a fine collection of "rejects" growing on my "live & learn shelf of shame" of badly drilled blank bits, shattered blanks, wood broken off tube ends and so on. Each one is a learning experience, so I keep them around as reminders of "what not to do/what didn't work". 😆

I'm entirely self taught & pretty much just go out there for a few hours a few times a week & see what I learn off of trial & error & instinct. I'm also attempting to make my own blanks, but success has been varied.

Glad to be here!

Also, my username (TheCraftyCarver) I got from Pixar's "Merida". She cracks me up so I figured it was a fun one to use ☺️

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Welcome to IAP Lauren, have FUN learning. I still have my initial 'bucket' of 'lessons' and it gets an inch or so added to every year.

Early on it was basic mistakes, now the rate is slower, but they are complicated/advanced mistakes. A wise mentor many, many years ago told me: "If you are not have a steady stream of failures you may not be pushing yourself enough to explore."

Gratefully he was talking in reference to doing basic experimental research... not driving, SCUBA diving or relationships 🤣

IAP will be a great resource for you.

jttheclockman