Hello from Oklahoma

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

404NotFound

Hello everyone, I am fairly new to pen making. I've only been doing it for about a week but I am definitely hooked. I do have an issue though that I'm hoping someone can help me with.

After destroying half a dozen acrylic blanks, I finally made one perfect for a click style ball point. I got everything pressed together but didn't realize the click button unscrewed, so when I assembled it I think I messed the mechanism up because now, the pen doesn't retract and the action when pressing the button sticks no matter what I try. If I press it down it just makes the tip of the pen stick out further, and I have to apply pressure to the head of the pen to get it back to the normal distance that the tip would stick out.

I think that there is probably no way to fix the mechanism itself, but is there a way that I can safely remove that section of the pen without destroying the acrylic? If it was just a pen for me I would live with my mistake, but this pen is intended to be a gift.

Thank you,
Chase

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

It might help if you could post a picture of the pen.

Please tell us the name of the pen kit you used ... that would certainly help even without a picture of the pen.

There is a small chance you can recover from the "damage".

I assume that you pressed on the clicker button when you were assembling. . That is a definite no-no.
You now seem to be aware that the button can be unscrewed; doing that before pressing the pen together might have avoided the damage.
But a possibly relevant technique in this situation is to make a "press-block" with a hole drilled through it in order to avoid exerting direct pressure on the push button.

keithbyrd

If you are lucky it could be that you put the spring on backwards -if the spring has different windings at each end make sure the one with fewest windings goes on refill first.

404NotFound