Hello from north Texas

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ghenley

Hello,

My name is Ginny and I am a working artist with a special love for polymer. Recently I saw some pens turned from materials other than wood and was immediately hooked. I've started with a Harbor Freight lathe and some English gouges that have curbed my social life, and I'm happy. Turning is more fun than any one person should be allowed to have!

Will someone please tell me the name of a book that will instruct me in closed end pen turning? I'm truly impressed by the work I see on this site and look forward to years of learning.

Attachments

• ginny henley pen 1 edit.jpg
    ginny henley pen 1 edit.jpg
    63.9 KB · Views: 156
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

el_d

Welcome Ginny,
as far as to what book to suggest, I cant help there, But you can work thru the library and get tons of useful info there. And if you cant find something there is a search feature and if that turns up nothing, you have the forum with ALOT of sharp people here.

Atherton Pens

Welcome from Georgia.

Here's an option for closed end pens:
http://arizonasilhouette.net/Closed_End_Pen_Mandrel.htm

Here's something from of our creative members.
http://www.penturners.org/forum/showthread.php?t=77258

You can also use a standard mandrel with another trick. If you want additional information on this method send a PM and I will try to explain. I'm not sure it will work for polymers, but I have been successful with wood.

Again, welcome and enjoy the addiction. Once you have an addiction a social life is not necessary!

its_virgil

Welcome. You will find a couple of articles on turning closed end pens on my websiteat hnttp://www.RedRiverPens.com/articles
Do a good turn daily!
Don

Hello,
Will someone please tell me the name of a book that will instruct me in closed end pen turning? I'm truly impressed by the work I see on this site and look forward to years of learning.

Sawdust46