Greetings from Oregon newbie!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

amtechrs

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to pen turning (actually any lathe work). Definitely have the bug! I've initially used hybrid blanks that I've poured, using brown or red malee(?). I recently started using my laser cutter to make pen blank 'boxes'. There's a very cool website for laser users that helps you make all kinds of boxes and other things, it's https://www.festi.info/boxes.py/ . I love that site. Anyway, I make the box/blanks according to specific pen dimensions, and embellish in different ways. I'm still experimenting! Here are some pictures of a few finished pens, and some of boxes in progress. I look forward to learning a lot from this group!

Best,
Richard

Attachments

• PXL_20240202_170147876.jpg
    PXL_20240202_170147876.jpg
    236 KB · Views: 76
  • PXL_20240207_005205404.jpg
    PXL_20240207_005205404.jpg
    425.4 KB · Views: 69
  • PXL_20240207_013332185.jpg
    PXL_20240207_013332185.jpg
    430.6 KB · Views: 70
  • PXL_20240208_005827066.jpg
    PXL_20240208_005827066.jpg
    446.3 KB · Views: 68
  • PXL_20240208_005950258.jpg
    PXL_20240208_005950258.jpg
    314.7 KB · Views: 77
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KMCloonan

Welcome from Northern Illinois! You have some really cool stuff there! I love the pens you made from the blanks, Great match of the blank and the kit. Can't wait to see more!

d_bondi

Holy cow Richard, those are crazy cool designs/blanks/pens!

Greetings and welcome from Utah!

Alan Morrison

Welcome to the forum, Richard.
Lasers certainly open up a whole new possibility for segmented design.
Seems a lot easier than me having to cut everything manually and trying to glue up accurately.
Looks fun.
Do you need to be very computer literate to use your laser?

amtechrs

Welcome to the forum, Richard.
Lasers certainly open up a whole new possibility for segmented design.