Fountain Pen Upgrade Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

David350

Hi, I am about to make my first fountain pen after making a few hundred rollerball and slimline pens. I know for the "parker" style pens, you can really improve the feel of the pen by replacing the standard refill that comes with the kit with a Schmidt 9000, etc. I am making a Baron FP and would like to know if there are "upgrades" that can be made to improve the writing feel / performance like you can do with the rollerball pens with the Schmidt 9000. I did see the recent thread on a Baron FP upgrade, so I hope I am not doomed on this. If you do have some suggestions, please provide links, etc. as I have no experience with a FP and really don't know anything about them. Thanks, David

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

duncsuss

Two facts: (1) almost every fountain pen nib can be made to work well no matter how cheap it is, and (2) even very expensive replacement nibs might need to be tuned for optimum performance.

I recommend you search for one of Richard Binder's nib smoothing workshops. There may be other people teaching the same fundamental techniques for recognizing what is right and what is wrong with a nib, and how to fix all but the worst problems.

Gord K.

I haven't been on this site much so forgive me for being late to respond to this post. A couple of observations:

If you don't have any experience with fountain pens, how do you know you need to upgrade the Baron before you've even made it?

If you want/need to do a nib upgrade, Beaufort Ink in the UK sell Bock nib and feed housings that are a direct replacement for the assembly in the Baron kit. They offer a number of different platings. I have personally replaced the nibs in two kit pens with the Beaufort size 5 parts, one a F and one an XF and I am happy with both.

No affiliation, happy customer, ymmv, etc.

Pierre---